By October 29, 2015 Read More →

Announcing the Electrical Wholesaler Awards 2016


This year’s Electrical Wholesaler Awards were a tremendous success and now, as we enter the third year of these prestigious awards, Editor, Debbie Eales provides an overview of the categories, details about how to enter and, of course, information about that all-important awards night dinner.

Winning a business award is the icing on the cake. A great affirmation that you’re your products and services are not just meeting, but exceeding expectations. ‘Excellence’ can be an overworked word, but in the case of the EW Awards, we really are celebrating excellence – the individuals, companies and suppliers who go the extra mile to deliver, every time.

And in an industry where technical innovation is key, the EW Awards shine a spotlight on the electrical products that stand out for all the right reasons and have proven to be a big hit with customers in the last 12 months.

Now in their third year, the EW Awards are organised by Datateam Business Media Ltd, publishers of Electrical Wholesaler magazine. Event Manager, Mike Gammon comments: “After the huge success of the first two events, we are delighted to have given the industry an event that is now talked about and recognised as a must-attend date in the diary.

“Even at this early stage, as entries are just opening, suppliers and wholesalers who attended the 2015 awards have booked their places for the next Electrical Wholesaler Awards on 12th May 2016.

“In addition to this, the amount of sponsor backing for this event is a clear indication that key suppliers believe in the work we are doing to support wholesaler/supplier relations through a rewarding night of networking and celebration of an integral part of the electrical market.”

Since their launch, the aim of the awards has been to recognise and highlight the achievements and services of electrical wholesalers and manufacturers.

For 2016, the categories are as follows:

Best Supplier Customer Service
Best Supplier Website
Best New Product
Best Marketing Campaign
Best Training Provider
Best Overall Supplier
Best Wholesaler 10 and Under Branches
Best Wholesaler 11-25 Branches
Best Wholesaler 26+ Branches
Best Individual Branch
Best Wholesaler Website
Branch Manager of the Year
Training Excellence Award
Lifetime Contribution Award
How to enter

UK wholesalers may enter the awards in any of the relevant wholesaler categories. A judging panel of industry experts will meet in February to decide on the shortlist and eventual winners.

Manufacturers, meanwhile, may enter their best and most innovative products, advertising campaigns, websites and customer service over the past 12 months.

There are also two training awards up for grabs. In the Manufacturer awards, there is a Best Training Provider category and in the Wholesaler awards, we have a Training Excellence Award.

The manufacturer/supplier awards will be voted for by professionals in the electrical wholesale industry. Voting will commence at the end of January 2016 and conclude on 31st March 2016. Voting will take place online, according to strict criteria.

The Lifetime Contribution Award will go to an individual who has played a significant role in the industry. A judging panel comprising independent industry experts will meet in February to decide on the winner.

When and where

The EW Awards 2016 awards dinner will take place at the five star Chelsea Harbour Hotel, London, on Tuesday 12 May, 2016.

Tickets include:
  • An exclusive drinks reception
  • A sumptuous three-course meal with fine wine
  • High profile award presentations
  • Entertainment from comedian Paul Sinha
  • An opportunity to network with peers, press, friends and colleagues

Tickets will be available in the New Year.

Our sponsors

Our thanks go to our EW Awards 2016 sponsors: B.E.G. Luxomat, Contactum, Electrorad, One Electrical, Lyvia Electrical Ltd, Marco Cable Management, ML Accessories Ltd, Schneider Electric, Scolmore Group and Selectric.

The event is also supported by: Electrical Industries Charity; Voltimum and Electrical Times.

To find out more, visit the awards’ dedicated website: